To Those Who Want To Wear The Niqab – Please Don’t.

Bismillahirrahmaanirraheem…

Assalamualaikum Wr. Wb.

It’s been a week plus since I last blogged. I was working on a post titled “A Pious Boyfriend?” for a few weeks now and I realised the last time I edited it, it didn’t automatically save and IT’S GONE WITH THE WINDDD. So I gave up on it. Haiz. Maybe if I’m feeling hard working, then I’ll continue. As for now, let me address those ladies who intend to don the niqab… or are already donning it.

So, to those who want to wear the niqab – PLEASE DON’T.

Why do I say don’t? Have I regretted my decision in donning the niqab? Obviously NOT. I love the niqab and insyaAllah I will never leave this piece of cloth across my face that has changed my life 360 degree. So why do I discourage people from wearing it but I myself will never leave it? Hypocrite? Definitely NOT.

There has been a sudden influx of ladies wearing niqab globally and  no doubt, it’s amazing to see ladies becoming more wary of their aurah (cz those who wear niqab will automatically wear loose clothing). I’ll smile behind my niqab when I walk passed another fellow niqabi. It really is a wonderful feeling knowing that there’s another person who wants to emulate the wives of our Beloved Prophet Muhammad SAW.

However, when I go online, I began to worry.

“Is the niqab going to be another fashion trend?”

SubhanAllah. I’m not judging anyone and I will not judge anyone because I myself not perfect. I’m just sad cz I see lots and lots of niqabi taking selfie, type some Islamic caption and expect people to …? Some even draw thick, bold and sexy cat-eye/winged eyeliner and wear coloured contact lenses. I’m not questioning their intentions cz most of the time our intentions are pure but our actions absolutely do not portray that pure intention.

One of my friends even told me she saw a niqabi taking pictures with guys. WallahuAlam.

I’m not saying I’m a perfect example of a niqabi, but we must know our limits. Just like the Hijab, we should know the wisdom behind the niqab. I’m also not saying a niqabi is more pious than a hijabi but we must make sure that whatever we are donning either the niqab or just hijab alone, is serving it’s purpose.

I wear the niqab cz the hijab I was wearing was not serving it’s purpose. I wear the niqab because I still act like a total retard when I was a hijabi. I wear the niqab because I still had lots of guy friends when I was a hijabi. I wear the niqab because I still portray myself like a non-hijabi when I was a hijabi (WHUUTTT?).

The wisdom behind donning a niqab and hijab is simple – to prevent yourself from drawing the attention of men.

So simple to digest but not simple to carry out. I know I know. Been there, done that. Honestly, if I could stop drawing the attention of men (cz I could start a conversation with men easily), I will just stop at being a hijabi. However, I couldn’t.

Being a newbie niqabi wasn’t an easy task. I’ve to delete my previous instagram, I’ve to privatise all my fb photos and I’ve to stop saying things that aren’t really important. Basically, being a niqabi is not only offline, but also online!

There was once, I put up a picture of me wearing half face niqab for the first time on fb and guess what? I’ve received more likes than ever before! I choose not to think that I look more beautiful with my face covered (LOL), but I realised that niqabis are very rare and people have the impression that niqabis are more pious than hijabis. And so, the so called pious guys will start to pursue for you cz he feels that you’re his ideal pious wife.

Please. Please don’t be fooled by guys who termed them as “akhi” and you as “ukhti”. It won’t Islamize your idle conversations.

A pious woman is she who guards here eyes and doesn’t want to be seen.  

Renew our intentions. If we wear the niqab cz we want to follow the wives of the Prophet PBUH aka the Mothers of Believers, then let’s listen to Allah’s commands:

“O wives of the Prophet! You are not like any other women. If you keep your duty (to Allah), then be not soft in speech, lest he in whose heart is a disease (of hypocrisy, or evil desire for adultery) should be moved with desire, but speak in an honourable manner.” (Al-Ahzaab:32)

This dunya is only a testing ground. If we can’t fight this desire, are we even worthy of calling ourselves servants of Allah? It’s not only by picture captions or fb status that will judge our worthiness in Allah’s eyes, it’s our actions as a whole. If you want to pursue for fb or instagram likes, then hundreds, thousands of likes that you will get. If you truly and sincerely want to pursue for Allah’s redha and blessings, then you’ll get His redha and countless blessings. Try not to do your do’a on FB, cz it just shows that you want humans to answer your prayers. Keep your conversations with Allah private for He’s the One that will answer all your prayers.

Struggle in the path of Allah cz He has promised:

“And whosoever of you is obedient to Allaah and His Messenger and does righteous good deeds, We shall give her, her reward twice over, and We have prepared for her a noble provision Paradise.” (Al-Ahzaab:31)

Remember, when we’re happily flaunting our niqabs online, there are people out there who are trying their best and even go to the extend of risking their lives just to wear one in the name of Islam. Let’s not destroy the pure image of Islam any more, it’s already being destroyed enough.

Again, I’m not trying to discourage anyone from donning the niqab. In fact, I highly encourage anyone who wants to wear it but we must remember, that piece of cloth across your face is not just a cloth. It comes with a set of rules and responsibilities that we need to abide to.

This post is not only for a specific group of ladies, it’s also for hijabis, current niqabis and myself. Let’s constantly remind one another that hijab and niqab are ‘ibadah, and Allah’s command should not be compromised by any desires but if all else fails, let’s remind ourselves of the wisdom behind hijab and niqab. May Allah SWT make us stronger so that we could fight in His path and may He be pleased with us Muslimah, InsyaAllah. 🙂

I’m truly sorry if I offended anyone. I love my Sisters for the sake of Allah and I hope we can do everything for the sake of Him only.

WallahuAllam.

13 thoughts on “To Those Who Want To Wear The Niqab – Please Don’t.

  1. GSalam says:

    Masha Allah… Thanks Ukhti (not the term “Ukhti” huh!) for this wonderful sharing… May Allah increase you in knowledge and pious… My regards to Ust. Nuzul….
    Allāhu Ḥāfiẓ 🙂

  2. Tajudeen Yusuf Seidu says:

    May Allah purify our intention. I think our sisters should remember that they are not maintaining their privacy. Why should you sisters be found all over the internet? Waisting productive time that will be more beneficial if you invest it on your family, in a study group, dawah amongst your fellow sisters and in doing dhikri and reciting the Qur’an. These are more rewarding and beneficial. May Allah guide us and not lead us astray. Wallahu Allam.

    • nurashikinsalim says:

      MasyaAllah. Thank you for your thoughts. Yet at the same time I guess no only sisters should maintain their privacy, brothers too should do their parts. In the end, Allah commands “hijab” for both males and females, yeah? 🙂

      InsyaAllah, insyaAllah. Ameen. May Allah guide us all. WallahuAlam. 🙂

  3. elementalknight says:

    Sometimes that doesn’t work with wearing the hijab and not attracting the attention of men. When I was in university I still had freaking men-Muslim and non-Muslim trying to talk with me, asking me if I was Muslim and I was thinking to myself “Do you NOT see the piece of cloth on my head?” That’s partly why I stayed away from the Muslims at school and for another reason. I do agree with you about Muslim women who wear makeup and crap like that when wearing hijab and/or niqab. It defeats the purpose of modesty and looks stupid in my opinion. But hijab doesn’t protect you against sexual molestation or rape. Rapists aren’t going to care if you’re covered or not. They’re going to go after the woman who is easiest to get her clothing off or who isn’t paying attention to her surroundings. Heck look at Afghanistan and all the rapes that happen to their women and they’re covered in a blue burka thing. I think selfies are trashy for anybody.

    • nurashikinsalim says:

      Subhanallah. That’s really sad… That’s why both men and women have to educate themselves about hijab. Most of the time people thot hijab is just for women and I guess that’s why these cases happen. Yet please don’t get discourage for wearing the Hijab! InsyaAllah if we do our part correctly, Allah will protect us all insyaAllah. 🙂

  4. Ibrahim says:

    then a person do sin he no need to pray… No need to keep beard….. If. Lady who do sin no need to wear even hijab as for your story. You are opposing the quran and sunny. If people make mistakes their problems nothing to do with Niqab. Fear to Allah and delete this worst or article otherwise you will be responsible ….

    • nurashikinsalim says:

      Ya Allah. Istighfar brother. You’re not getting the point. Which part of my post did I say that you don’t need to wear the Hijab? The Hijab is still mandatory no matter what.

      I’m saying about those women who want to wear the niqab just because others are wearing it. And when they don’t understand the wisdom behind the niqab, they’ll wear it however they like and they’ll act anyhow they wish.

      I fear Allah that’s why I’m asking my sisters in Islam to fear Allah too. Nevertheless, please pray for me that Allah will keep guiding me. 🙂

  5. commenting53 says:

    I find it so hard to believe, much less saddening that there are people in this world who are so stupid that they would waste their lives and succumb to a cult belief. Even worse is that they would waste precious air talking about the benefits of wearing a garbage sack as if it was a Valentino dress.

    • nurashikinsalim says:

      I find it so hard to believe, people like you with so much hatred still exist. I’m sure what we wear doesn’t concern or affect your daily life. Learn to understand and gain more knowledge rather than wasting precious air and polluting it with your negative thoughts.

Leave a Reply

